Monstercat 017 – Ascension Ascends the Label Even Further

Over the past two years, we have watched this next label transform from the likes of a promising, transgenre EDM collective with loads of potential into the fierce jungle feline you see before you today.

Monstercat is most certainly where it’s at when discussing labels that have set the tone for the next few years of electronic dance music releases.

How, you ask?

Well, that next part is a bit tricky.

To begin, this Vancouver-based music label has elucidated talents from some of the most unheard of, eclectic groups of musicians in all of dance music. Not only have they championed said undiscovered artists onto the scene, but these new talents have proceeded to swell their fair share of waves in this vastly expanding ocean we affectionately refer to as the “EDM-o-sphere.” A quick glance at the “current roster” on the official Monstercat web page will reveal a staggering number of widely popular producers you may not have necessarily associated with MCat.

7 Minutes DeadAstronautAu5BrakenCase & PointDirectDotEXEDzeko & TorresDroptekFalcon FunkFavrightFractalHaywyreHellburgInsan3lik3KrewellaLets Be FriendsMr FijiwijiNoisestormPIXLPegboard NerdsProject 46, Rameses B, RazihelRogueSouleroSplitbreedStephen WalkingThrottleTristamTut Tut ChildVarien and Vicetone.

(Just to name a few of our favorites.)

However, words will only get us so far. You need to HEAR what we mean.

Without hesitation, the fat cats over at MC have released their 17th compilation LP to date. So far, “Monstercat 017 – Ascension” has garnered attention from every corner of the EDM world, making this their most supported album to date! With a four-hour laundry list of tracks, fantastic production quality throughout, and loads of prodigal EDM producers on top of it all, Monstercat presents to you a release that will only serve to exacerbate their stranglehold on the EDM industry.

Keep it up boys and girls.

Monstercat 015 – Outlook [Artist Compilation]

Everybody’s favorite Canadian label is back at it again, compiling another showcase featuring a slew of the up and coming talent Monstercat Media has to offer. We have said it before, but we might as well say it again. Monstercat Records has a knack for unearthing some of the most progressive and undiscovered EDM artists we have the pleasure of stumbling upon. Thus proving yet again that independent labels (especially given today’s EDM climate) possess “the ability to reshape the music industry landscape, while [still] supporting up and coming musicians”.

Monstercat’s outlook on their role in the electronic dance music community is certainly something to be admired. While the larger labels bank off of seasoned producers guaranteed to rake in the cash with each successive release, Monstercat Media nobly adheres to the road less traveled, championing an audience for those producers hiding in the weeds. Speaking of Outlook, that just so happens to be the name of their 15th compilation release. You see? It all comes full circle here.

Notable tracks from this spectacular, two and half hour showcase of EDM prowess include: Rogue‘s out-of-this-world release “From the Dust” (which is featured on his brand new EP), glitch-hop sensation Haywyre‘s “Back and Forth” from his A Song Per Week series, and Hellberg, Teqq and Taylr Renee‘s massive progressive house smash “Air” (we are particularly infatuated with this one).

To be completely honest, selecting a couple tracks we especially like is total bull shit. Every single track on Monstercat’s release of Outlook is worthy of it’s place on the compilation. Without those furry felines hailing from Vancouver, we would never have been introduced to artists like Favright, Rameses B, Mr Fijiwiji, Insan3Lik3, Project 46, 7 Minutes Dead, Stephen Walking, Fractal, Televisor, Eminence and Soulero (who all happen to have at least one jam on this CD).

Support on iTunes:
Support on Bandcamp:
Support on Amazon:
Support on Google Play:

Monstercat Presents ‘The Best of House Vol. 1’ [Compilation Mix]

Yesterday, those devious felines over at Monstercat Records released another one of their superb musical compilations. This time they present The Best of House, Vol. 1 – a 15 track, hour long mix of their biggest and most popular releases in the realm of Progressive House. We just wish they had offered it as another free download. Oh well, fans can find it streaming on YouTube and SoundCloud.

The mix includes some favorites like Vicetone‘s Heartbeat, featuring the dulcet vocals of Collin McLoughlin as well as ‘Because We Are’, a track by Hellberg and Soulero that transports the listener through an odyssey of uplifting and stratospheric melodies. Oh, and be sure to check out Project 46’s track titled ‘No One’; another true gem amongst many others.

We hope you’ve got an hour to spare this Tuesday for some of the best Progressive House that Monstercat has to offer. This label defines underground talent and it would appear as if they aren’t going anywhere anytime soon. If you’re looking for the next best thing in EDM, look no further. Monstercat Media has got your ticket.


00:00 Project 46 – Reasons (feat. Andrew Allen)
04:45 Vicetone – Heartbeat (feat. Collin McLoughlin)
09:38 Hellberg & Deutgen vs Splitbreed – Collide
14:02 Eminence – Modern Love
18:17 Vicetone – Harmony
23:02 Hellberg & Soulero – Because We Are
28:02 TwoThirds – Waking Dreams (feat. Laura Brehm)
34:31 Teqq – In A Box
38:32 Project 46 – No One (feat. Matthew Steeper)
42:54 Project 46 & Mar!no – Wut!
48:24 Stereotronique – Quake
52:31 Hellberg – Get Up
56:34 TVDS – Bumblebee
01:00:26 Rundfunk – A Dream
01:05:29 Eminence – Falling Stars